How to protect yourself against this dangerous Facebook scam

A new Facebook virus is taking over social media. Have you been affected? Source: Getty

Facebook is a great way for us to stay connected with family and friends, but new reports are suggesting a dangerous scam is currently taking over the social media site.

If you or your family use the social networking site, you need to be aware that you could be at risk.

Experts have warned that the new scam is extremely hard to detect and has the ability to cause huge problems.

Unluckily for us, hackers and scammers are becoming cleverer with the ways they trick us into clicking viruses.

The latest scam has already targeted thousands of people and there’s a chance that you might already be affected.

Ad. Article continues below.

The virus makes it look like someone on your friends list has sent you a message and a video link.

They usually say, “You are in this video?” and complete the message with an emoji or smiley face.

Because the messages appear to be coming from our friends and family, many are being tricked into clicking the video, only to find that their computer, phone or tablet immediately becomes infected with a virus.

Ad. Article continues below.

Not only does this automatically forward the virus on to your own friends and family, it has the potential to steal your personal data including passwords and credit card details.

It also has the potential to control your Facebook page and post from your account without your knowledge.

It’s pretty scary stuff.

Val Quinn from Gadget Guy explained how the virus works to Yahoo News, saying: “Once that happens, the virus is on your machine, goes back into Facebook and sends the virus to all your friends, so you need to watch your posts to see if you have been infected.”

If you notice that things are appearing on your Facebook page that you haven’t personally posted, it’s best to change your password immediately.

Ad. Article continues below.

To be on the safe side, it is recommended that you also change passwords for your email address and other frequently visited sites.

It’s also a good idea to let your friends know if your account has been infected.

While you may think it’s embarrassing that you’ve fallen victim to a scam and don’t want anyone to find out, it’s vital that you let your loved ones know so they don’t get infected. 

If you do receive a suspicious message or video link, it’s always best to delete it or check with the person who sent it before you open it.

The news comes after a frightening security flaw was found to put all Wi-Fi users at risk.

Have you been sent the suspicious video? How do you protect yourself online?