How do you cope with a different and difficult child? 5



View Profile

eye-of-the-sheep-coverWinner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015 and shortlisted for The Stellar Prize, Sofie Laguna originally studied to be a lawyer, but after deciding law was not for her, she trained as an actor. Sofie is now an author, actor and playwright. Her books for young people have been named Honour Books and Notable Books in the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards and have been shortlisted in the Queensland Premier’s Awards. She has been published in the US and the UK and in translation in Europe and Asia.

In The Eye of the Sheep, Sofie Laguna tells the story of a poor family, struggling to cope with a different and difficult child. It is told from the mesmerising point of view and in the inimitable voice of Jimmy.

Ned was beside me, his messages running easily through him, with space between each one, coming through him like water. He was the go-between, going between the animal kingdom and this one. I watched the waves as they rolled and crashed towards us, one after another, never stopping, always changing. I knew what was making them come, I had been there and I would always know.

Meet Jimmy Flick. He’s not like other kids – he’s both too fast and too slow. He sees too much, and too little. Jimmy’s mother Paula is the only one who can manage him. She teaches him how to count sheep so that he can fall asleep. She holds him tight enough to stop his cells spinning. It is only Paula who can keep Jimmy out of his father’s way. But when Jimmy’s world falls apart, he has to navigate the unfathomable world on his own and make things right.

Sofie Laguna’s first novel One Foot Wrong received rave reviews, sold all over the world and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Award. In The Eye of the Sheep, her great originality and talent will again amaze and move readers. In the tradition of Room and The Lovely Bones, here is a surprising and brilliant novel from one of our finest writers.

The Eye of the Sheep, by Sofia Laguna, avialble from Dymocks, buy here


Karen O'Brien-Hall

I've had many careers in my life and loved each one! My new career blossomed when I retired and become an OAP. I am passionate about childhood literacy, books in general and my garden. I love Ballet, Opera, Concerts, Theatre, (both professional and community) and Movies. I tend to have opinions on most things and enjoy a good debate about the topic, not the person. In my thirties, I married my GOM (Gorgeous or Grumpy Old Man) the love of my life.

  1. Patience, love, understanding of condition and belief in oneself to accomplish. Accept support where needed and just do

  2. mike here-June is ATM principal carer for our 15 year old Autistic Grandson. Just having a teenager at home is a learning curve because our kids spent their teen years in college but add the Autism fact &-respect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *