Covid-19 update Australia: Qld to enter lockdown, states put up borders

Jun 29, 2021
Greater Brisbane will go into a snap three-day lockdown from 6pm tonight. Source: Getty

Australia is grappling with a number of Covid-19 clusters popping up in several states and territories across the country. Queensland is the latest state to announce a snap lockdown after two new local cases were recorded overnight. Here is the latest state-by-state rundown on lockdowns around the country:

New South Wales

Currently, residents of Greater Sydney, the Central Coast, the Blue Mountains, Wollongong, and Shellharbour are in a two-week lockdown, meaning they can only leave home for essential reasons, including grocery shopping, exercise, receiving medical care and essential work. New South Wales currently has 149 local cases of Covid-19. The state recorded 19 new local cases on Monday night. You can find out more about latest Covid-19 case locations and alerts here.


Premier Annastasia Palaszczuk announced on Tuesday morning that Queensland’s south-east region — which includes Greater Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast — Townsville, Palm Island and Magnetic Island will be plunged into a three-day lockdown from 6pm Tuesday night. If all goes to plan, restrictions will be lifted from 6pm Friday.

“We have got to do this for three days, there will be a lockdown for three days and I don’t want it to be 30 days,” Palaszczuk said in a press conference this morning. “From 6pm tonight, until 6pm on Friday, South East Queensland, Townsville city, Palm Island and Magnetic Island will go into lockdown. South East Queensland includes all of the 11 local government areas listed yesterday.”

Residents in those regions can only leave home for four reasons, to buy essentials such as groceries or medications, work or study if you can’t do either from home, exercise in your local area, healthcare or to provide  help, care or support. Visitors are private homes are limited to two, while cafes, pubs and restaurants will be open only for take away or home delivery. Funerals are allowed up to 20 people, while weddings are allowed up to 10 people.

Western Australia

From midnight Monday, Perth and Peel entered a four-day lockdown after a third Covid-19 case was recorded in the area. Residents in these regions are only allowed to leave home for four reasons: for essential work, for purchasing essential goods, for exercise and for medical and health care purposes. Read more about Western Australia’s lockdown here.

South Australia

Despite no local cases, a raft of restrictions have been introduced in South Australia. Masks must now be worn in high-risk settings such as aged care facilities and hospitals, and are recommended on public transport. Private gatherings are limited to 150 people, while singing is also prohibited. Premier Steven Marshall said the new restrictions, which came into effect Monday night, will be in place for one week. You can find more details and the latest updates here.


Melbourne, which was plunged into a two-week lockdown earlier this month, is now Covid-19 free. All travellers from anywhere in Australia must apply for a permit to enter Victoria. Greater Sydney and Wollongong, as well as Greater Darwin have been declared as red zones, while Greater Brisbane and Perth and Peel regions in Western Australia have been declared as orange zones. People who have been in orange zones can obtain a permit to enter Victoria but must isolate on entry and get tested within 72 hours.

Northern Territory

Residents in Darwin, Palmerston and Litchfield are currently in lockdown until Friday. The state currently has four active live cases. Residents are only allowed to leave their home to receive medical care, receive a Covid-19 vaccination, buy essential goods and services, exercise or provide care to a family member. You can find more information here.

Australian Capital Territory

Face masks are now required in certain public settings, such as public transport, indoor retail premises and aged care facilities in the ACT, despite no new local cases. There are currently travel restrictions in place for NSW, Victoria, Queensland, Northern Territory and New Zealand. You can find out more on the ACT’s official Covid-19 website.


Tasmania has introduced a hard border closure with Greater Sydney, while regions in the Northern Territory, Western Australia, Victoria and Queensland have been listed as high risk with travel restrictions now in place. Find the latest travel restrictions updates here.

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on Pinterest

Where do you live?

Please sign in to post a comment.
Retrieving conversation…
Stories that matter
Emails delivered daily
Sign up