Hachette Book of the Week: Calling Major Tom

Calling Major Tom is a heart-warming and ultimately life-affirming story of a man who has given up on the world… but discovers in the most unlikely way that it might not have given up on him.

We all know someone like Thomas:

  • The grumpy next-door neighbour who complains to the Residents’ Committee about the state of your front lawn.
  • The man who tut-tuts when you don’t have the correct change at the checkout.
  • The colleague who sends an all-company email when you accidentally use the last drop of milk.

Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems.

But beneath his cranky exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he’s about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world.

Ad. Article continues below.

An irresistible and heart-warming tale of a very unexpected friendship, perfect for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and A Man Called Ove.

You’ll laugh, you’ll cry and you will cheer on all the curmudgeons in your life.

calling-major-tom

David Barnett is an author and journalist based in West Yorkshire. After a career working for regional newspapers, he embarked upon a freelance career writing features for most of the UK national press. 

He is the author of the critically-acclaimed Gideon Smith series of Victorian fantasies and teaches journalism part-time at Leeds Trinity University. David was born in Wigan, Lancashire, in 1970 and is married to Claire, also a journalist. They have two children, Charlie and Alice.

Calling Major Tom by David M. Barnett (published by Hachette Australia) is available now from Dymocks. Click here to learn more.

Books at 60 is proudly supported by Hachette Australia

Hachette Australia is a team of expert publishers and passionate readers dedicated to discovering and supporting talented writers and working with them to craft exceptional stories.